La La Land: a review

la-la-land-2016-movie-poster

Have you ever seen a film or read a book or heard a song that COMPLETELY CHANGED YOUR LIFE? BECAUSE LA LA LAND IS THAT FILM FOR ME.

Sorry, I’m getting excited. I just loved this movie so much. The narrative follows Mia (Emma Stone) and Seb (Ryan Gosling) throughout the seasons (Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall) and their chance encounters until finally they become the WORLD’S MOST AWESOME POWER COUPLE OF ALL TIME!

I don’t want to give away too much, because it’s still a relatively new movie, but everything about this film is amazing. The ending!!! Just, the ending!!!!

I mean, even the frickin’ movie poster is incredible.

It’s set in what is made to look like late 1920’s Hollywood, with the addition of iPhones, so still not too sure what year the film is set in. but the era of Jazz is dying out! And Seb wants to save it! But Keith (John Legend) wants to change the jazz sound! It’s all very exciting and I can’t form constructive sentences because all I can think of is Jazz music and tap dancing and all the beautiful clothes the cast were wearing.

If you like bold colours, beautiful music and flawlessly acting- watch this film.

I’ve always said that Jazz music is an underrated art so with any luck this film will shed some light on it and make it popular again.

I left the cinema in a daze, because my head was in the clouds and I was singing the songs from the film.

Even though the story didn’t end the way I wanted it to, I can understand why it had to end the way that it did. Nothing about this musical screams cheesy, so the ending needed to reflect that, and not be predictable.

But thank you, thank you for this film. You deserve all the Oscar’s.

2 Comments

Leave a comment