On The Hook

Did you ever watch that episode of How I Met Your Mother, where Ted Moseby talks about being kept on The Hook or keeping someone on The Hook? 

Well I am here to tell you that he is absolutely right. 

Although it doesn’t go into as much detail as the TV program does (for example, I don’t give foot rubs or feed people chocolate cake and spoon them) but I too, am on The Hook.

Being on The Hook means you keep someone around because you give the illusion that you intend to date them, when in reality, you have no intention of being in a real relationship with said person.

For example, Kyle* is a friend of mine who has a girlfriend, but he keeps Becky* around because he knows that she likes him, and he can get things out of her that he might not be getting from his partner, such as someone to go to live music events with, someone to watch Star Wars with, someone to guilt-free eat booze cheesecake with. Being on The Hook is just a gentler term for being lead on, I’ve learned. 

I have someone on my Hook, whom I have no intention of dating, but I keep them around for a confidence boost and a free drink now and again. It’s tricky, because on my side of it, I’m not doing anything wrong, I’ve held no promise of a relationship, but I still keep them around because they are a person I need to have surrounding me.

I’m not saying it’s right, but everyone has one, and that’s just the way it goes.

If you don’t have someone on The Hook, then you’re probably on The Hook yourself. 

Peace y’all ✌🏽️

One thought on “On The Hook

Leave a Reply

