I came to a realisation last night, that I DON’T need to have my life figured out yet. For some reason I always felt like I needed to. 

I’m not even 22 yet. Why am I searching so hard to find The One? Why am I desperate for The Career, the one that will change my life? Why am I physically draining myself from the stress I put myself under? 

I’ll tell you why: Society. 

Society dictates success with happiness, that you aren’t living a worthy life if you aren’t in love, or if you don’t have an amazing post graduate career. 

News flash, my life isn’t an Instagram account. I don’t need to have a ‘post worthy’ future. 

I’m not even 22 yet. And it is okay that I don’t have my life figured out yet. It’s okay that I’m still chasing bad boys and nannying and living at home with my parents. It’s okay that I still like to go out partying at the weekends and that I will kiss a stranger or make a bad choice. I’m 22, and I don’t have my life figured out yet. 

I don’t know why it took me so long to realise this. But that doesn’t matter, because now that I’m aware, I can live my life in the Now, and not worry so much about my future yet. Right now, I’m just happy to be a nanny, and fall for the wrong people, and write for my blog twice a week. If I don’t succeed right away then that is okay. The future is dark, and I don’t want to have to think about it more than I need to. And right now, I don’t need to. 

Leave a Reply

