The secret to girl and guy friendship

Girl to guy friendships:
      I don’t think that a girl and a guy can be just friends. Maybe in the guy’s case, but definitely not the girls. 
     Let me para phrase. If you have a funny, good looking and charming young man, who is friends with a girl, at one point or another the girl would’ve had liked that guy as more than a friend, even if it was only for a short period of time. Or at the very least, she’s thought about him naked. 
     I suppose it does work in the other way too. If you have a pretty, kind and honest girl as a friend, I suppose a guy would also have felt more than friendship feelings towards her too. 
     From personal experience, I’ve been a girl that temporarily crushed on a friend of mine, and I’ve also been a girl who’s had a friend crush on me. 
      It doesn’t have to be feelings of love. It can honestly only be a quick thought wondering if he’s a good kisser, or is he’s the guy you’re going to marry, etc. 
     My friend Alec told me of this theory, and I can’t deny it. It’s so truthful. 
     And it is very common in film, television and books for relationships to blossom from friendships. Although this is very, very rare. A girl will watch a movie where the two friends end up together and wonder if her life will turn out that way too. Even if it is just a split second thought, it counts.
     Now there is absolutely no need to act upon these feelings. I never have, and my life is much much better for it. If I acted upon every single crush I had, I’d go from relationship to relationship to relationship. And most of the time the feelings won’t be reciprocated, because, well, you’re just friends. 
Let me clarify that this doesn’t happen to EVERY friendship. It is usually only if one person is universally attractive, charming and kind. It is very easy to get wires crossed in scenarios like these. 
     For example: Brenda has been friends with Tom for three years. Tom is a basketball player, with blonde hair, blue eyes and a very intelligent mind. Brenda is quirky, and a little geeky, but very kind and aesthetically pleasing to look at. (I know how shallow it is to rely on looks, but this is just an observation I’ve made in recent discoveries). One day Brenda and Tom are studying, and Tom is chewing on a pencil. Brenda makes eye contact with him, and suddenly is wondering what it would be like to kiss those lips. 
     There are two ways to deal with a situation like that: ignore it, because it is a fleeting emotion and it will pass. Or you can act on it, which will either work out in your favour or it won’t. Romantic comedies have taught women everywhere that it will always work out in the end, which is true, but it just may not work out in the way you’re expecting. 
     So the next time you think you’re ‘in love’ with your best friend, or a close friend, think about it. Because the truth is, you aren’t. And you could potentially destroy the best friendship of your life.
     I could’ve, but thank God I didn’t. 

One thought on “The secret to girl and guy friendship

Leave a Reply

